DA salutes Region 8’s Rice Achievers

Created on Tuesday, 19 March 2013 Published Date

The Department of Agriculture Regional Field Unit-VIII (DA-RFU-VIII), through Regional Executive Director Antonio G. Gerundio, salutes the region’s 14 Agri-Pinoy Rice Achievers for year 2012.

Of this number, 3 garnered the outstanding municipality awards and 11 under the category of Agricultural Extension Workers (AEWs).

The municipalities of Naval, Almeria and Cabucgayan, in Biliran province, were among the Top 50 municipalities/cities recognized during the Awarding Ceremony held on Friday, March 15, 2013 at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC), Pasay City, Manila, graced by no less than Department of Agriculture Secretary Proceso J. Alcala.

The 8 Agricultural Extension Workers (AEWs) came from the municipalities of Naval, Almeria, Cabucgayan and Culaba, while 3 are from the Provincial Agriculture Office. The AEWs are: Ms Nascencia D. Abad (MA) and Ms Shirley J. Jadulco (A) of Naval; Ms Tita B. Morillo (MA) and Ms Eufemia G. Meycador (AT) of Almeria; Ms Maria O. Suzon (MA) and Ms Elizabeth B. Gayrama (AT) of Cabucgayan; and  Ms Estefania T. Loyola (MA) and Ms Christine C. Devio (AT) of Culaba.     The awardees from the Provincial Agriculturist Office are: Mr. Jaime G, Casas, Provincial Agriculturist; Ms Teresita B. Alandra and Ms Julia P. Tuston.

They were among the 550 AEWs nationwide recognized for their efforts of helping their farmer-constituents increase their rice production since 2010. As outstanding rice awardees, they are entitled to receive cash award of P20, 000.00, a cash, medal and Plaque.

On hand to receive the award for Outstanding municipalities were Mayor Dominador O. Agajan of Almeria and Mayor Enrico B. Uyvico of Culaba. As outstanding municipalities, they are entitled to receive cash award of P20,000.00, and a Plaque.

Other categories given due recognition this year were the Top 10 Rice Producing Provinces (Kalinga, Pangasinan, La Union, Nueva Vizcaya, Isabela, Nueva Ecija, Bulacan, Zamboanga del Sur, Davao del Sur and Compostela Valley), the Top 10 Irrigators’ Associations (IAs) and the Top 3 Small Water Impounding System Associations (SWISAs).  They received cash award of P40,000.00 each and a Plaque.

In his Keynote Speech, Sec. Proceso J. Alcala outlined 3 key parameters to declare the country as self-sufficient in rice this year: (1) sustained increase in rice production throughout the country since 2010; (2) sustained decrease of the volume of imported rice (3) improved partnership between departments so as to curb rice smuggling.  He likewise exhorted them to help the government in its campaign to teach people to conserve rice, to be responsible rice consumers and to practice eating other staple food like cassava, corn, banana, peanut and other rootcrops.

In 2012, Region 8 has attained 96% self-sufficiency in rice production. The province of Biliran is the only province in the region which can now export rice to its neighboring areas in the Visayas. (MARIA CHRISTINA E. COLASITO, MPS-II)

Tuesday the 29th. Copyright © 2012 | DA8 - Eastern Visayas